Dream Lake iced over - RMNP

County Offices, Courts, and the Landfill will all be closed on Monday, May 30, 2016 for the Memorial Day Holiday. Critical services at Larimer County are not disrupted by closures.

> Departments > Community Development

Contact Information

Community Development Director
Photo of Terry Gilbert
Robert "Terry" Gilbert, AICP Col. USA (ret)
Send email

General questions
(970) 498-7683

200 W. Oak Street
Third Floor
Fort Collins, CO 80521

Building Department

Public office hours
(Monday, Wednesday - Friday)
8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
(Tues.) 9 a.m. – 4 p.m.
(except holidays)

(970) 498-7700
Fax: (970) 498-7667

Inspection request line
(970) 498-7697

Planning Department
Rural Land Use Center,
Code Compliance

Public office hours
Monday – Friday
8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
(except holidays)

(970) 498-7683
Fax: (970) 498-7711

Staff Directory

Community Development Division

Planning, Rural Land, Building, and Code Compliance

Photo by Dave Mosher Photo by Steve Moore Photo by Geoff Burcaw Photo by Ron Harvey

Working to add value to the lives of citizens and visitors by helping to maintain a high quality of life and a safe built environment.

The Division is responsible for the administration of land use regulations, development review, building inspection and code enforcement in the unincorporated area of the County. Recognizing the broad range of issues that contribute to the quality of life in Larimer County, the Division carries out its responsibilities with increased emphasis on business development, community involvement and coordination of transportation planning.

Learn more about the services provided by the Community Development Division in this short video.
Larimer County Services: Community Development »

Rural Area Outreach Project
  • The Community Development Division administers land use regulations, development review, building inspection and code enforcement in the unincorporated area of the County.
  • Incorporated cities and towns in Larimer County are Fort Collins, Loveland, Estes Park, Berthoud, Wellington, Timnath, Johnstown and Windsor. Larimer County encourages cooperative partnerships with these communities.
  • The staff of the Larimer County Community Development Division is here to assist you with planning, building, and code-related questions.
  • The East Mulberry corridor area is one of several places in Larimer County that has a special area plan, recognizing its unique character, issues, and needs. Other special area plans are in place for Laporte, Red Feather Lakes, the Northwest (FC) Subarea, and the Fossil Creek Reservoir area.
  • Larimer County (shown in red) is located in north-central Colorado. The US Census indicates the population of Larimer County in July 2010 was 300,637.
  • Public participation in Larimer County's land use and building processes is encouraged and is one way that citizens can be involved in the decision-making that shapes our communities.
  • Larimer County covers 2,640 square miles, from irrigated farmlands and urban areas in the east to high mountain peaks in the west. Over 50% of the County is publicly owned, most of which is within Roosevelt National Forest and Rocky Mountain National Park.

Division-supported Boards and Commissions

The Community Development Division staff provides support for several of Larimer County's Boards and Commissions:

See the Boards and Commissions page for detailed information on other boards and commissions in Larimer County, including contact information for staff liasons and board members.

Background Image: Dream Lake frozen over in Rocky Mountain National Park by Bryce Bradford. All rights reserved.