News Release

Austin Bailey Jr., MD, selected for 2013 Joseph Jabaily Public Health Hero Award

Department: Health & Environment
Release Date: Apr 24, 2013


Jane Viste

The Larimer County Board of Health is pleased to announce that Austin Bailey Jr., MD, will receive the 2013 Joseph Jabaily Public Health Hero Award.  The award is given yearly in honor and remembrance of the many contributions to improving health and commitment to public service of Dr. Joseph Jabaily, a Loveland neurologist who died tragically in a charity bicycle race in the summer of 2004.

Dr. Bailey has served as a faculty member and a director of the Fort Collins Family Medicine Residency Program for more than two decades and has played a major role in ensuring access to primary care for many low-income patients and pregnant women who otherwise would have gone without needed health services.  In the 1980s, the Fort Collins Family Medicine Center was the major source of  “safety net” clinical services in the county, since there were no federally funded clinics in the county at that time.  Dr. Larry Kieft worked with Dr. Bailey and others to establish the Poudre Valley Prenatal Program for low-income mothers and teens to make sure every woman in the community had access to prenatal services, delivery and hospital services, and post-partum care. This effort required a significant expansion of the Family Medicine Residency Program to be able to provide services to these additional patients.

Dr. Bailey has a long history of collaborating with the Larimer County Department of Health and Environment, both in accepting patient referrals when other sources of care could not be found, and in providing county Family Planning Program clients with affordable surgical options.

Dr. Bailey has trained a generation of primary care physicians, not only in the specialty of Family Medicine, but also in how to provide a patient-centered medical “home” for families and how to focus on prevention at both the individual and the population level.

The 2013 Joseph Jabaily Public Health Hero Award will be presented to Dr. Bailey at the Larimer County Board of Health meeting at 6:30 p.m. on May 9, 2013, at the Larimer County Department of Health and Environment, 1525 Blue Spruce Drive, Fort Collins in the clinic waiting room area on the first floor.

Former recipients of the Joseph Jabaily Public Health Hero Award include environmental scientist Frank Vertucci, Ph.D., 2006; local obstetrician/gynecologist Larry Kieft, MD, 2007; Jane Higgins, MD, Physician at CSU’s Hartshorn Health Service, 2008; Lupe Harbison, 2009, an outreach worker and women’s health promatora in the Latino community; Carol Plock and the Health District of Northern Larimer County, 2010; Ginny Riley, director or Larimer County Human Services, 2011; and Jennifer Anderson, PhD, retired Professor in the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition at CSU in 2012.