About Larimer County

About Larimer County

Larimer County is located at the northern edge of the Front Range of the Colorado Rocky Mountains. Larimer County includes the cities of Estes Park, Fort Collins, Loveland, Timnath, and Wellington plus surrounding unincorporated areas and mountain communities stretching north to the Wyoming border and west to the continental divide. Fort Collins, Loveland, Estes Park, Wellington, and Timnath are wholly in Larimer County while only portions of Berthoud, Windsor and Johnstown are in Larimer County. The county covers 2,640 square miles.

Fort Collins is the largest city with a population of 139,587 in the year 2010. The city of Fort Collins increases in population every year and has been named one of the best places to live in America by a number of national trend sources. Loveland, known worldwide as the 'Sweetheart City' for its valentine re-mailing program, is the second largest city with a population of 65,614. The beautiful mountain town of Estes Park - the gateway to Rocky Mountain National Park - is home to 6,458 people. The total population of Larimer County in 2010 was 302,600.

Overall, residents of Larimer County experience a good quality of life, although improvements can be made in some areas, as this web site shows. It is the goal of several community groups, initiatives, and residents that we maintain and enhance the quality of life in our community. We hope this project provides the base for that to happen.

Key Links to the Community

Information & Referral

Local Government

Chambers of Commerce


Public Schools, Colleges & Universities

Hospitals/ Hospital districts